Enfamil Situation Update, November 5th, 2012.

Technically it’s the 6th, but whatever. lol
Still up from the 5th.

So I haven’t posted in a bit. I’ve been fairly busy. Mainly with Amelia, Kristen, stuff around the house, work… just basic life stuff. Never felt so busy in my life, and there is still so much stuff I need to do and seemingly so little time to do it.

I haven’t had much of a chance to look into 3rd party testing facilities for the Enfamil situation. This bugs me.
I really do want that crap tested properly, but finding the time to actually sit down and figure things out is incredibly difficult. What I believe I am going to do in the next couple of days is file a complaint with the Better Business Bureau, explain the situation and instead of asking for money (they specifically ask you to assign a dollar amount), I will insist that Enfamil be forced to pay for 3rd party testing. Whether they agree with my position is up for debate. Technically, Enfamil is within regulations by insisting to test it themselves… but that is still morally reprehensible from where I am sitting. If anything, their inappropriate treatment of myself and the situation as a whole should hopefully sway the BBB in my favour, but again, it could go either way.

I’d pay for the testing myself and try to recoup the costs if I could, but I can’t really afford to dump it on my credit card and I certainly don’t have the cash on hand. Rock and hard place.

Yes, the CFIA said they would take it and test it… but again, it is an escalating system of testing and I do not believe an “educated guess” justifies stopping full testing of a contaminant found in baby formula. Every contaminant found in formula should be tested to see what it is without a shadow of a doubt. Anything less is just dangerous. I will not roll the dice with the health of my child.

The whole system makes no sense. It should be streamlined to protect infants and it clearly is not. If anything, it is incredibly bias in the industries favour, which I find entirely unacceptable. When all is said and done, I intend on sending, well, whoever I have to a strong letter stating this. I haven’t looked up who to contact about regulatory matters, but I’m sure it wouldn’t take long.

My silence this past week is not backing down. It’s not letting it drop.

I had to devote a lot of time to this situation during the first few weeks of my daughter’s life. This isn’t fair to me, Kristen, and certainly not Amelia. I’ve had to take a step back to care for my family. The stress caused me to miss a fair bit of work, which has increased my credit card debt. So I have to dedicate myself to working steadily as well or my bills will overwhelm me. I’ve been doing the “nightshift” with Amelia and during those hours it is difficult to find much time to do anything but see to her. She’s wide awake at night. lol

So, I’ll file the report sometime this week, and it’ll take at least a week to hear back from them I would imagine. Possibly longer. 😦

Think before you flame...

