National Geographic Genographic Project 2.0

Something positive now. 🙂

During the summer I became interested, for about the 5th time in my life, about my heritage. This time it was on a more genetic level than trying to trace anything back; was reading an article or something on genetics which sparked it I think… procreating kind’ve sparked it too. I looked around a bit for a quality company that would do thorough genetic testing. It was kind’ve a birthday present to myself, and I figured Amelia might find it interesting as well some day.

Looking into this, and reading many reviews about different companies, I found that some of these companies end up having you pay for ‘additional testing’. This can jack the price to a huge amount, and this stuff isn’t cheap to begin with really… it was like 230 bucks USD. Not something I can really afford, but I will pay it off my credit card asap. Just too curious to pass it up.

I’ve always been a big fan of National Geographic. They really do some amazing work.
I found the Genographics website and figured it was probably my safest bet to get something like this done so I went ahead and placed the order. It arrived today!

I like the Genographics project because it’s not just an endeavour to make money. It’s a chance to contribute to the understanding of the human race and learn a bit about myself and my family along the way.

Few photos of the kit and myself swabbing my cheek. I will post the results when I can. (6-8 weeks)
Personally I can’t wait! 😀

Image

ImageImage

Image

4 thoughts on “National Geographic Genographic Project 2.0

  1. Before I would ever give my DNA and $200 over to anyone, I would demand a detailed explanation of exactly how this technology supposedly works. Not, “We have this cool new technology that can tell us all about your genetic origins and where you ancestors have been in the world (we know this even though we’re just now collecting DNA from people around the world)–trust us.”

    • Supposedly it is anonymous testing. The information used is associated with a number, as labelled on the phials and not my name. Nothing being sent back to them has my name on it, I would imagine the test kits are randomly plunked in the outgoing boxes. It could be a nefarious plot to steal my DNA… or maybe exclude me from healthcare insurance based on disease markers… or maybe they’re looking for “the one”. lol
      I had the same skeptical thought as you before ordering it. Can’t remember exactly what I read, but I’m cheap enough by habit it must have been fairly convincing. 🙂

      This is also kind’ve why I went with National Geographic’s thing. They’re not perfect, but I trust them more than most other companies. Their website sucks btw, you’re better off looking at the IBM site for it or googling it. There are controversial articles out there in regard to it as well.

      They look for markers in your DNA that signify certain things. It explains it slightly better in the little booklet they sent, though not as deeply as I had hoped they would. :\

Think before you flame...

